This article explains how to add or change permissions in Access Control for a user or department.
Before You Begin
You must be a superuser to add users, change permissions, and set password rules. See Adding a Trash Flow User for instructions on how to create a new user.
Set the Permissions
-
From the tilebar click . The User Accounts window opens.
-
Select a user account and click .
-
Use the checkboxes here to select or deselect permissions from the user. See the tables at the bottom of this page for explanations of each option.
-
Use the Departments dropdown to assign the user to a department(s), if needed. Departments only affect which notifications the user should see.
-
Click to finish.
You can change the user’s Login ID, Full Name, or Initials, if desired. See Changing a Trash Flow User's Password for details about password options. See Configure Notifications to change which notifications a user should see.
Reference: Basic Permissions
There are currently over a dozen options in Access Control to define what users can and cannot do. The ways that these permissions interact can be complicated. These are the most important permissions to understand.
| Option | Description |
|---|---|
| SUPERUSER | Trumps all other options in this screen. Someone with superuser permissions can do anything in Trash Flow including add, delete, and change other user accounts. |
| See Customer Financials | Given to most users working in Trash Flow. It lets them see the rates the customer is being charged and the financial history on the account. Without this a user can't do much more than look up accounts, see what route they're on, and confirm the address and phone number. |
| Edit Customer Financials | This permission is needed to set up customer accounts. It also allows a user to set rates on an account, add container placements and containers to accounts, make charges, and print bills. |
| Routing | Lets the user add stops to routes, move or delete stops, and create new routes. |
| Containers | Lets the user add containers to the system. Without this, a user can view the Boxes tab on an account, but make no changes. |
| Delete Authority | Allows the user to delete transactions and customers. |
| System Maintenance | Needed for a user to create new bill codes, bill groups, surcharges, etc. It's also necessary to access the Maintenance menu in case a problem needs to be fixed. Finally, a user needs this permission to run a customer list; this is a security measure to prevent lower-level employees from printing a customer list with addresses and phone numbers to steal customers away. |
The options listed below have a more narrow focus. Permissions can interact in many different ways. If you're not getting the results you want or otherwise want help, please call us at 800-708-8642.
Reference: Other Permissions
| Option | Description |
|---|---|
| Unlimited Refund | The user can process a credit card refund for any amount up to the amount of the original payment. |
| Allow Multiple Logins | The user can log in with the same user account on more than one computer at the same time. |
| Maximum allowed refund | This user can only process credit card refunds for up to this amount or the total payment amount, whichever is lowest. |
| MatTrack Entry | The user can access Trash Flow’s MatTrack materials tracking program to enter landfill tickets from other companies. |
| Closing Date Admin | The user can set a “closing date”; no charges, payments, or other transactions can then be back-dated to before that date. |
| View Secure Customers | The user will be able to access secure customer accounts. You can set an account as secure on the Misc. tab of the customer information window. |
| View Customer EFT Info | The user will be able to add or remove credit/debit card numbers or bank accounts saved on the E.F.T. tab of the customer information window. These are always encrypted when stored, so even with this permission no users can ever see your customers' credit card or bank account numbers. Users can also update the expiration date on a card. |
| Process Payments | This user will be able to enter payments—they cannot create new accounts, route, deal with containers, etc. |
| TipTicket Manager | This user can retrieve and void tickets, create new truck types or Origins/Destinations, and otherwise change settings within TipTicket. |
| Default User | Takes the options chosen on this user account and makes that the default for new users. |
| Secure Notes | The user can see any notes entered on the Secure section of the customer Notes tab. |
| TipTicket Operator | This user can create weigh tickets in the TipTicket scale house software. |
| Inactive | Deactivates the account and prevents it from being used to log in. This is typically done when a user leaves the company. |
